Christian, Jesus, Purpose

Stuck In a Season

     What do you do when you feel like you are stuck in a season? 

     In my case, I feel like I have been stuck in a season for quite a few years now.  A season of sicknesses, excruciating back pain, a much needed surgery, marriage break down and divorce, financial struggles, family issues, and a pandemic.

As much as I wanted to hit the fast forward button, there was no getting out of it. At times I had a full blown pity party, and cried, wanted to faint, curl up in a ball, and at other times I was thankful and cognizant that God was carrying me through the long days.  There are many people that are dealing with lifelong disabilities, and sicknesses, and when I saw people that were worse off than me I was ashamed of myself. Life is hard, but how do we deal with things when life is tough?

What does God’s word say about times and seasons?

Ecclesiastes 3:1-8

To everything there is a season, A time for every purpose under heaven: 2 A time to be born, And a time to die; A time to plant, And a time to pluck what is planted; 3 A time to kill, And a time to heal; A time to break down, And a time to build up; 4 A time to weep, And a time to laugh; A time to mourn, And a time to dance; 5 A time to cast away stones, And a time to gather stones; A time to embrace, And a time to refrain from embracing; 6 A time to gain, And a time to lose; A time to keep, And a time to throw away; 7 A time to tear, And a time to sew; A time to keep silence, And a time to speak; 8 A time to love, And a time to hate; A time of war, And a time of peace.

Galatians 6:9 ESV

And let us not grow weary of doing good, for in due season we will reap, if we do not give up.

As nice as I think it would have been it not to go through these challenges, where would I be, spiritually, had I not faced these obstacles? Will you still stand, and believe in God when things get rough? Or, do you only love Him when times are good? 

I know what has carried me through these difficult times is being in a prayer group.  Praying with other believers, and having them pray for you.  Exercising, taking a walk, or sitting outside with a book.  Other things that helped me was rearranging my furniture, getting a mani/pedi, and simply trying new things.  I recently took an overnight trip, and drove a couple hours away, which doesn’t sound like a big deal, but it was scary for me without my husband there to do the navigating.  I recently wrote a short children’s story which is something I have always wanted to do.  As soon as I self-publish it, I will let you guys know.

Even though I can tell the tide is shifting (after all, nothing ever stays the same) I have to consciously practice self-care, and take control of my thoughts.  What would life be like if everything was good, without its challenges? How would we be able to help and encourage others if we couldn’t empathize and know what their pain feels like? After all, one of life’s purposes is to help others.  

No matter what, God will use every bit of bad that we have gone through for His purpose and glory.  So wipe your tears away, take a deep breath, and thank God for all the good things you have and that are coming your way.

14 thoughts on “Stuck In a Season”

    1. Well said. Amazing perspective. This is how we communicate God’s heart with love and care.
      Thank you so much for these kind words. Selah.

      Like

  1. Monica,

    Orchard led me to your website on Friday. Last week a co-worker died unexpectedly leaving a wife and 3 children behind. He was a believer and a wonderful person. My boss read this very scripture Ecclesiastes 3:1-8 at his remembrance service on Friday morning.

    I want you to know that your season of waiting will soon be over and your blessings are coming! God is just testing you! He is testing me as well and I’ve been in waiting for a long time. Keep the Faith! I also follow Emily-Rose Lewis Ministries and she speaks of long-suffering in this video from Friday! I hope this helps!

    God Bless You!
    Erica

    Like

    1. Hi Ericka,

      I am so sorry to hear about your co-worker. I will be praying for his wife and children.

      I thank you for the encouraging words, you have no idea how they came right when I needed them.

      It’s awesome when we can be used by God to give life giving words to others. I pray strength for you.

      Thank you for the link as well, what an awesome video. God bless you.

      Like

Leave a comment